ANOTHER DP question

From: Steve Hope <>
Date: Mon, 11 Feb 2002 12:03:17 -0800

I agree about placing your spirits atop friendly stacks for defense--given that most of the early game is about FINDING and KILLING the enemy's spirits, why would you expose yours to the enemy? Unless they're stacked on top of two Full Moon Corps and the Steelswords...

I'm inclined to keep the rules as we are currently playing them (that way even depleted magicians provide some defensive help to the poor 4-3-5 and 3-3-3 slobs), but I'd love to know if we're playing the wrong way.

Total aside: I haven't actually played NG yet (just DP), but from reading the rules and looking at the counters, it seems like the Impalas must be TERRIBLE! Has anyone found their large numbers to be worth their tiny CFs?

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Monday, February 11, 2002 11:50 AM To:
Subject: Re: ANOTHER DP question

In a message dated 11/02/02 18:50:18, you write:

 This is kind of an odd question: Reading the rules, I can't find anywhere  that it says that a magician can't use DSM if their spirit has been  destroyed. There IS a clause saying that they can't use DSM if their spirit
 is elsewhere (defending another stack), but nothing that I found about  magicians being unable to use DSM if their spirit is actually gone.

I am not sure I can find the definitive rule either. I always played that if

you had a range factor you got DSM. Mostly our magicians went back to their holding boxes rather than stacked with some other units, as they immediately

became targets for enemy magicians.

As for Glorantho-accurate authentic representation, I wouldn't worry too much
about it too much. DP is closer to HW than Runequest ever was (IMO), but is still a long way off being a "realistic" representation of Glorantha .


To unsubscribe, send a message to with the phrase 'unsubscribe' in the body. If you have any problems, contact

Powered by hypermail