Re: Help with Practitioners

From: Dave Camoirano <DaveCamo_at_...>
Date: Tue, 2 Sep 2003 22:17:18 -0400


On Tuesday, September 2, 2003, at 09:50 AM, drpachyderm wrote:

> Hi,
> Can someone please help me with how to handle Practitioners?
> My friends and I started our HeroQuest campaign this past Friday with
> character creation and a quick romp through Fish Rain (even though
> almost al of them weren't completely finished with character
> creation). I had a real problem with how to handle practitioners
> though.
> What do they get in terms of magic?
> It looks like (in the beginning of the book) they get one of each
> practice spirit listed in the Practice keyword. So if they choose a
> practice with one spirit, they get one fetish? If they choose a
> practice with 5 or 6 spirits, they get 5 or 6 fetishes? Is that right?

That's correct.

> Also, in order to join a Practice, you have to be a member of a
> Tradition, so do they also get that keyword and 5 charms from the
> tradition?

Not necessarily. There are independent practices that are not part of a tradition. However, if they do start as a member of a tradition then yes, they do start with 5 tradition magic charms.

> It looked to me like the total amount of magic they started with was:
> 5 common magic charms at 17 (fully usable and raisable)

Not necessarily. If the player wants to start out with his magic concentrated, he will probably not have any common magic (since most traditions and practices frown on this). If his magic is not concentrated, then the 5 common magics could be a mix of charms, feats, spells and talents (all augment-only).

> 5 tradition charms (usable only as augments and not raisable)
> 1-6 (depending on practice) practice fetishes (fully usable but not
> raisable)
> Is that right?

Except for the notes I made, yes.

> Also, it says that their Narrator will assign ability ratings for the
> spirits. Well, that's me (I'm their Narrator). Is there any guidance
> anywhere on what sorts of ability ratings to assign?

Yes. Next to each of the spirits listed is a range. For instance, the first spirit listed next to Jardan the Warrior's Bowman Spirits is "Arrow Protection 7 to 18". These are typical ratings and there's nothing that says you can't, for instance, say that your player gets an Arrow Protection fetish with a rating of 5W. During playtesting, I just gave my one animist player a number of points and let him distribute them how he chose but told him he had to stay within the range listed.

I hope this helps!


Powered by hypermail