Re: Are Multiple Attack rules broken?

From: Roderick and Ellen Robertson <rjremr_at_...>
Date: Tue, 2 Nov 2004 11:53:33 -0800

> I can't see anything in the rules to indicate that "roll"
> automatically excludes bumps. For instance the result after bumps is
> described as a "roll" on p67 (step d "Compare your result...").
> Personally I would read both as applying to the result after bumps.

Try step C:
"Roll a die to determine your degree of success or failure, *then* apply any bumps." (emphasis mine).

Sure, you can apply bumps first, that is basically my first option under "out of rules".

> I would add that if there is a clear imbalance in the primary
> abilities as there is here it is probably better in most cases to
> treat the lesser opponent as a follower.

There may be good reasons for *not* treating an opponent as a follower to a greater opponent, even with a disparity in ability ratings. The circumstances of the contest, and the feelings that the narrator wants to evoke need to be taken into account.

C'est par mon ordre et pour le bien de l'Etat que le porteur du pr�sent a fait ce qu'il a fait.
- Richelieu

Powered by hypermail