Re: Re: Interesting Failure

From: joshua neff <joshua_neff_at_...>
Date: Sat, 26 Mar 2005 03:50:51 -0800 (PST)


I think your baggage is causing you to read more tyrannical GMing than I intended. If I, as the GM, told the player the result of a bad roll was "you make the jump, but your axe tumbles into the abyss" and they reacted like you say you would, I'd counter with, "Okay, then what do you think the result should be?" As Ashley suggested, put the ball in the player's court. I certainly wouldn't stubbornly stand by "you lose your axe" as a result, to the annoyance of the player. (I'd also reassure the player that they'd get their axe--or one exactly like it--back later on. This "lost axe" is just temporary "damage" as per the HQ rules.)

--joshua m. neff

www.goblin-cartoons.com                 



Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Small Business - Try our new resources site! http://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/resources/

Powered by hypermail