Re: Presetting Stakes and AP Bid Limits

From: Roderick Robertson <rjremr_at_...>
Date: Wed, 13 Dec 2006 09:10:11 -0800

>>It hasn't come up often enough to really be a bother, but once when
>>was caught off guard with a low stat we found that not being allowed to
>>more than 8 was really limiting. (Especially since he was able to switch
>>more appropriate stat the next round.)
> Wait...the player can always bid up to his starting AP. That's the
> Desperation Stakes rule. I'm not familiar with a rule that says you can
> only
> bid up to your currently used ability...

There is no rule that says you can only bid your current ability in AP, but if you *started* the contest with a "8" ability (and AP), then that's your max Desperation Bid. There's even notes in the book about trying to force an opponent to respond with a low inital ability to restrict his AP. It's part of the original Robin manuscript.

He was born with the gift of laughter and the sense that the world was mad R. Sabatini, Scaramouche

Powered by hypermail