Re: Infinity, Stasis, Magic in S:KoH

From: David Cake <dave_at_Tu9oAJU09nHxNbly7Vbem1EjrN8_ZNtHvDyXb9bJoxjfqjWGLX1SotNHYCsZMmaqPyBK4WK>
Date: Mon, 7 May 2012 19:14:16 +0800

On 07/05/2012, at 6:50 PM, Peter Metcalfe wrote:

> On 5/7/2012 4:46 PM, David Cake wrote:

>> 	The Stasis/Magic combination would actually preclude a character from joining LM under the current HeroQuest rules - the third rune would be an elemental rune, and so lacking either Law or Truth, the character wouldn't be allowed to join LM.

> People can have more than three runes - the best known example being the
> acquisition of the Mastery Rune to become an Orlanthi chieftain.

        Indeed, nothing is impossible. But its unclear under what circumstances it happens, they seem to be rare, there are no known circumstances for gaining a Law or Truth rune (other than, I guess, heroquest contest), and until it does - they are ineligible.

>> 	FWIW, while Stasis was associated with Alchemy in RQ2 days

> Still is. Sartar: Kingdom of Heroes p70.
	I know. I was expressing mild disagreement with that brief mention being the whole truth about alchemy. Basically, the relevant sentence has changed only mildly since the equivalent RQ2 sentence, and I think there is a reasonable case that it should have (as we now know about the Law rune. Though paradoxically, we probably know LESS about alchemy than we did in RQ2, if anything).

Powered by hypermail