Re: Humakti tattoos

From: Stephen Tempest <glorantha_at_...>
Date: Mon, 22 Oct 2012 14:22:06 +0100

robin <robin_mitra_at_...> writes:

>The severing of his ties to the Storm Tribe is one the two most important myths for Humakt (the other is finding Death). Hence I would say a Humakti has neither clan nor tribal tattoos. He does not belong to his former bloodline anymore. He could belong to a household, but that is more like having a job than having a family.

I don't think that's true. Humakt is no longer Orlanth's brother, and he's not part of his clan anymore. However, he is part of the Storm Tribe. He holds an honoured place in the tribal ring as the king's champion, in fact. Clan =/= Tribe.

As for the tattoos and other tribal and clan insignia: personally I'd say that even in Glorantha where the gods are real, there's still often a big gap between what's supposed to happen, and the messy details of how it works in practice. The rules, as expressed by the people in-world, are in fact mostly just guidelines. But that's probably YGWV territory.


Powered by hypermail